New ways to communicate! (and pretty helpful during Hurricane Sandy…)

Lorri's Blog

For the past few years, Middle and Upper School teachers at Hamden Hall have been required to post weekly syllabi and course material to their course conference on First Class. This year, I decided to pilot two additional ways to communicate with my students: Schoology and Remind101. I figured that, with the combination of a web-based, Facebook-like interface, accessible via iPhone, iPad or computer using Schoology, and with texting via Remind101, I would be able to communicate efficiently and effectively to my students in a variety of ways.

After using both for about two months, here are my thoughts:

Schoology

1) Students really like the interface. Access on many devices is very convenient.

2) Schoology allows easy access for students to watch the videos that I create on my iPad using Educreations.

3) After students watch the videos, I use Schoology to create short online assessments to see…

View original post 568 more words

About Lorri Carroll

Director of Lower School/ Mathematics Teacher at Hamden Hall Country Day School, #isedchat moderator
This entry was posted in Technology, Upper School, Web 2.0 Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

